Deerhoof announce new album, debut lead single ‘I Will Spite Survive’

deerhoof photo by Shervin Lainez

Deerhoof today announced their new album Mountain Moves will be released September 8th, 2017 on Joyful Noise Recordings.

The first single “I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner)” premiered this morning on Democracy Now! — stream via YouTube below — and the album is now available for pre-order via Joyful Noise Recordings.

Mountain Moves comprises 12 original songs and three covers, and was recorded, performed, and produced by Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier, Ed Rodriguez, Satomi Matsuzaki & John Dieterich, with the Children of Hoof Radio & Television Orchestra. Mountain Moves features Stereolab’s Læticia Sadier, Awkwafina, Juana Molina, Xenia Rubinos, Matana Roberts, among others. Deerhoof are currently on tour, and a full itinerary is included below, along with the Mountain Moves LP tracklist and album art.

Kurt B. Reighley wrote a bio for Mountain Moves:

Experiencing one emotion at a time is a luxury of the past. Think back to that moment at the women’s march or the pro-science rally, when you spied a small child holding a handmade sign that read “I love naps but I stay woke” or “Boys will be boys good humans” or “May the facts be with you.” How adorable! How upsetting! How the hell are they going to make it to adulthood in this toxic environment? 

Deerhoof is right there with you. They recognize that we are simultaneously living in two worlds, one a maniacal, mainstream monoculture hell-bent on driving humankind into extinction, the other a churning underground teeming with ideas and dogged optimism and the will to thrive and survive. Mountain Moves refutes the former by ecstatically celebrating the latter. 

▼ Article continues below ▼

Though Deerhoof have often made albums from start to finish with virtually no input from the outside world, now is not the time for artists to operate in isolation. Mountain Moves throws the doors wide open. Working quickly, the band invited myriad guests to participate, some of them dear friends, others practically strangers. They are of different ages, different nationalities, different disciplines. The only common thread was that each and every artist on Mountain Moves doesn’t fit into a single, neatly-defined category – and doesn’t wish to. 

The results, as expected, were unexpected. Guide vocals and simple melodies were dispatched via email, only to be answered with an outpouring of alternate harmonies, suggestions for arrangements, additional instrumentation. Every file received triggered a new rush of jumbled emotions. Some guests crafted their contributions in the small hours of the dawn, toiling in hotel rooms before driving eight hours to the next tour date; others hopped on the subway and recorded with the band in-person. 

Collisions and collusions abound on Mountain Moves. In addition to its bounty of originals, the program includes three covers that epitomize the album’s assemblage of disparate ideas and personalities. Reducing Bob Marley’s “Small Axe” to a beat-less fragment of hymn-like simplicity magnifies the song’s rebellious spirit and undercurrent of violence. Deerhoof vocalist Satomi Matsuzaki, a Japanese immigrant, lifts the Staple Singers’ “Freedom Highway” out of its original place and time, imbuing it with a new sense of alienation from one’s own country. Snippets of the bass recitative “For behold, darkness shall cover the earth” from Handel’s Messiah provide the foundation for a fresh take on Chilean folk hero Violeta Parra’s bittersweet masterpiece “Gracias a la Vida.” 

Adventures outside the United States also informed the making of Mountain Moves. During a recent visit to Brazil, the band was astonished to see how enthusiastically audiences at concerts sang, danced, and reveled – a cultural response, they learned, to the scarcity of resources for all but the nation’s wealthiest elites. Elsewhere, the experience of confronting unfamiliar audiences of fired-up Red Hot Chili Peppers fans taught them that one of their greatest skills – the ability to recalibrate their sound nightly to suit a particular venue – wasn’t limited to basements or small clubs. The broader strokes of Mountain Moves sprang forth from lessons learned while trying to engage audiences of 20,000+ across the vast distances of Northern European sporting arenas. 

If Mountain Moves were a movie, it would be a double feature, Journey to the Center of the Deerhoof and Escape from Planet Deerhoof, shown side-by-side simultaneously. The record epitomizes the band at its very best, exploring new realms between the poles of independence and invention. It also serves as a welcoming point of entry for new listeners outside Deerhoof’s traditional orbit, an opportunity to bring even more voices into the communal conversation. We’re all in this together.

Deerhoof Mountain Moves

Mountain Moves tracklist:

01. Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina)
02. Con Sordino
03. I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner)
04. Come Down Here and Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier)
05. Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra cover)
06. Begin Countdown
07. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)
08. Ay That’s Me
09. Palace of the Governors
10. Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos)
11. Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts)
12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers)
13. Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14. Kokoye
15. Small Axe (Bob Marley)

Deerhoof Tour Dates:

06/28 – Milwaukee, WI @ SummerFest 2017
06/29 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
06/30 – Chicago, IL @ United Center *
07/01 – Chicago, IL @ United Center *
07/02 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
07/03- Cincinnati, OH @ Urban Artifact
08/18 – Sudbury, ON @ The Grand Theatre
08/19 – Ottawa, ON @ Arboretum Fest 2017
08/20 – Toronto, ON @ Wavelength Music Festival
08/25 – Praha, CZ @ Underdogs’ Ballroom & Bar
08/26 – Storkow, DE @ Alinæ Lumr Festival
08/27 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel Sommerfest
08/28 – Darmstadt, DE @ Oetinger Villa
08/30 – Opwijk, BE @ Nosta
08/31 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
09/02 – Aarhus, DK @ UJazz Festival
09/03 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
09/04 – London, UK @ Village Underground
09/05 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall – sold out
* Supporting Red Hot Chili Peppers
Like this? Share this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *